Day 4: Using a whipper snipper’s more fun than it seems!

I’ve been compiling a list of things I have never done before as my go to resource for doing something new each day. This is a work in progress, and only about half finished, so if you have any ideas you think I could add to the list, please leave me a note in the comments.

Anyway, I’ve noticed that a number of things I have not experienced relate to things that are traditionally seen as men’s work. Changing a tyre or using power tools are just a couple of examples of men’s things I have never done.  And I must admit I am quite surprised by this realisation. I have always thought of myself as something of a feminist. Not in a burning my bra, men hating way, but the I-can-do-anything-he-can-do type of woman.

Well, after reviewing my incomplete list of soon to be new experiences, it seems I may have been fooling myself.  Where I once may have been an equal opportunities kind of gal, I have settled into the traditional married woman lifestyle. It seems that I am indeed perpetuating the gender stereotype. Chores around the house are the perfect example – I do the cooking and cleaning while my husband does the outside jobs, like the gardening.

whipper snipper 2I’m not much of a gardener. I like a nice garden, but don’t have the patience to do it myself – maybe that’s why I let my husband take care of the mowing and associated gardening chores? Anyway, in an attempt to break free from my self-imposed gendered shackles, at least for today, I got out the whipper snipper to trim the edges of the backyard lawn.

It may be an old adage, but it is certainly true that you never really know whether you’ll like something until you’ve tried it. This is one of the reasons I embarked on my 365 day quest to do 1 thing new every day. I actually enjoyed using the line trimmer (she says with surprise). It wasn’t difficult and the weight of it certainly gave my arms a workout (an unexpected but very welcome bonus). I also found it rather therapeutic. While I was doing the simple physical task where I didn’t need to concentrate on anything, I just let my mind wander. I think I may actually do it again!

Do you inadvertently perpetuate gender stereotypes, or have you recently tried something you enjoyed that you thought you wouldn’t? Tell me all about it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

