Week 11: Dance like nobody is watching – and hope they’re not!

This week kicked off with some gorgeous sunshine, but over the last few days it’s been pretty wet and miserable weather wise. That’s no problem though, it’ll take more than some rain to stop me!

Day 71: New recipe – egg & cheese pepper rings

I fancy myself a half decent cook. Now you won’t find me entering MasterChef any time soon, but I’m always up for trying a new recipe. Sometimes it works and (as you know if you’ve been following my blog for a while) sometimes it is a spectacular failure (flaxseed bacon and egg mug biscuit anyone? Ugh!) Happily, day 70’s egg and cheese capsicum rings were delicious and an ideal low carb alternative to my usual weekend breakfast of egg in the window.

At this point I’d usually link to the recipe however the web page is no longer available. There is a pin on Pinterest but the link is broken, so I’ll give you the recipe I worked out from the pictures.
Egg & cheese red pepper rings

1 red pepper (capsicum)
Eggs
Grated cheese (your choice, I used cheddar)
Salami (optional)
Butter or oil

  1. Slice the red pepper into rings approximately 1 cm thick.
  2. Add as much butter or oil you need for shallow frying (you could probably dry fry if you have a good non-stick pan).
  3. Place red pepper rings in frying pan and crack an egg into each.
  4. Fry for 30 seconds, flip over and top with cheese.
  5. When cheese melts remove from pan and serve on top of salami (or toast for a higher carb option).

Day 72: Hulaerobics

When my son was a baby (he’s 9 now) I bought myself a weighted hula hoop and the workout DVD Heart Hulaerobics. It was my intention to hula hoop my baby belly away but somehow, I never ended up doing the work out. That’s the peril of online shopping – it seems like a good idea when you make your purchase, but by the time your goods arrive (especially here in Australia where we have quite possibly the slowest postal service in the developed world) more often than not, you’re just not interested any more. And so it was that I never ended up giving Heart Hulaerobics a go… until this week.

I used to like hula hooping as a girl. I even won a competition once, for keeping it up the longest (the hula hoop that is). So I was rather looking forward to my hulaerobics session. I ended up being pretty awful at it though. While I can hula hoop the usual way, hooping while bent forward, squatting and various other movements were quite beyond me. The video was also rather uninspiring too. The music was way too quiet and the whole presentation somehow lacked energy.

I guess it’s time to donate the DVD to the charity shop.

Day 73: A new card trick

Everyone likes magic tricks don’t they? I always thought it would take ages to successfully learn a card trick but on Tuesday I taught myself (with the help of EvanEraTV) to do not 1, but 2 card tricks! And I actually managed to pull it off, my hubby had no idea how I did it! (Until I showed him…)

Without further ado, here is my magic trick debut.

Day 74: I wrote a letter to myself…

Do you know where you want to be in a year, 5 years’ or 10 years’ time? Do you have a plan to get there? As you’ve no doubt deduced by now, I have been pretty much just going with the flow for the last few years. I’m not very good at sticking to goals, instead I tend to wish I had something without planning how to get it. This year I have been attempting to break out of a rut by trying new things, and sharing them on this blog, and in so doing have found myself setting goals and becoming more organised (thanks to my bullet journal). I’ve even been planning my daily new experiences a week in advance (this is a massive step for me!)

While trawling the internet, looking for ideas for new things to do (you can help me here by leaving suggestions in the comments) I found a website called Future me. This is a free website where you can write an email to be delivered to yourself sometime in the future. One of the many benefits of this is goal setting. What better way to keep yourself accountable than knowing you will be reading your goals in the future and comparing where you were at the time of writing to where you are at the time of reading? I think this is also an exercise in understanding perspective. Things that seem important in the present, often pale into insignificance in the future.

You don’t need to sign up to Future me to send yourself an email, and you can choose when and where (that is what email address) you would like your email delivered. I decided to have my email delivered in 1 years’ time, to how much my 2017 challenge has affected me. I’ll update this post when I read my email.

Day 75: New foods – soft shell crabSoft shell crab

I am a big fan of seafood and enjoy trying new foods. On Thursday I ate out at a new restaurant The Collective in Palm Beach and had soft shell crab for the first time. It was delicious. One of the best things is that you eat the whole crab without having to crack the shell and suck the meat out and making a right old mess at the dinner table!

Day 76: Handstands upHandstand against the wall

As a girl I was never a big fan of doing handstands. I preferred cartwheels as they were easier and you were less likely to fall over and hurt yourself! As for doing a handstand against the wall, I was quite hopeless at it – I never got my legs up high enough to touch the wall. But there is another way to do a handstand against the wall that I had never tried.

I follow a fantastic blog called 12 Minute Athlete and one of the recent challenges they have had is the handstand challenge. In this challenge you put your hands on the ground and walk your feet up the wall, then walk your hands back towards the wall so you are in the handstand position. This is apparently better than doing a handstand facing away from the wall because you can keep your back straight and the weight is more evenly distributed. All well in theory, but as you can see from my attempt below, some people struggle to walk their hands back towards the wall. Actually, I couldn’t move my hands at all. Anyway, I did a wall handstand, facing the wall, for the first time. I think I need to work on my strength and technique though!

Day 77: 100 Burpee challenge

The 100 Burpee challenge is another challenge courtesy of the 12 Minute Athlete. The idea quite simply is to time yourself doing 100 burpees and every month attempt to better your time. As I am rather unfit, I did a modified version of the burpee (no push ups – just jump feet back, then up again) but I did manage 100 in 9.38 minutes.

Day 78: Dancing naked in the rain

This morning I woke up to torrential rain. Actually it has been raining most of this week. So it was the perfect time to do one of my more daring new things. I grabbed hubby and asked him to take the photos of me dancing naked in the rain!

I found a secluded spot in the garden and hoped the neighbours wouldn’t choose that time to pop their heads over the wall to see what all the commotion was about. Fortunately it was raining fairly heavily, so there was no one else about. I popped on some music, took of my clothes and pranced around with just my flip flops on.  It was quite liberating and surprisingly exhilarating, I highly recommend it!

Have you ever danced naked in the rain? Why not give it a try and tell us all about it in the comments. I believe it’s never too late to try anything and hope my antics inspire you to break out and do something exciting and new. If they do I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

